A Vacation to La Floridita

20120315-182334.jpg
After a rough day at the salt mine and construction between said mine and my house, I needed a vacation. After considering finances, work schedules, and other issues, I determined a vacation wasn’t feasible. Therefore, I decided to, in the immortal words of Jonathan Edwards, lay around the shanty, mama, and put a good buzz on.

How to acquire this buzz? Since I was thinking vacation, I thought Florida, personally I hate “beach” vacations, but my wife loves them, so naturally, we go on “beach” vacations, so naturally, I thought La Floridita.

La Floridita
2.0 ounces light rum
.75 ounces lime juice (half a lime)
.50 ounces simple syrup
.50 ounces Maraschino Liqueur

Shake the dickens out of this drink. Some serve it over crushed ice. I cannot bring myself to do this. I do give it a healthy shake, but double strain it and let the drink maintain it’s dignity, mingling simply with a homemade maraschino cherry, and not perverted or diluted by crushed ice or whatever TGI Nit Wit may put in their daiquiris. If you want a overly sweet snow cone, then go to a shaved ice stand.

Recipes differ, but most daiquiri recipes are variant of the 3-2-1 or 2-1-1 sour ratios. For a traditional daiquiri I prefer 2.5 rum, .75 lime juice, .5 simple syrup, but that’s my flavor profile.

I consider the Maraschino a sweet component, even though it’s a dry sweetness, and did .25 ounces for this recipe. The recipe calls for more, but I tweaked it to fit my pallet. Booze wise its not too far off from my preferred classic daiquiri.

Dr. Cocktail, Ted Haigh, author of “Vintage Cocktails and Forgotten Spirits” uses equal parts, a teaspoon of each sweetener with half a lime and two ounces of rum. This should work out to about 2-1-1. His book is a must own for anyone interested in cocktails.

Daiquiris and variations on the classic rum libation are a main stay as the temperature rises. If you don’t already have a few rums, get some, along with a handful of limes, so you can go on your own vacations. A spoiled lime every now and then is a small price to pay to remain twenty seconds of shaking from a Floridita vacation.

When life gives you limes, make Daiquiris.

Tagged ,

One thought on “A Vacation to La Floridita

  1. Luke says:

    I have been on a margarita kick recently now that I can sit in the fresh air and enjoy a libation. I found a recipe from a book by Danny Meyer that adds muddled kiwi and jalapeno to the classic margarita. Worth a try

Leave a Reply

